A demand for time

You saw the Prisoner of Azkaban movie, right? Hermoine seems to get SO MUCH accomplished — how does she do it?

Oh, that’s right. She hacks the time-space continuum. I’m glad that magic can do that. That’s seriously how I feel so many times in my life, but especially right now. I just want to jump around and wave my arms like Steve Martin in Dirty Rotten Scoundrels:
“This! THIS! I want THIS!! THIS… is what I want.” *

Its day-to-day practical uses are virtually limitless. You need to go take a test, but you want to ask that cute girl on a date? Sure. Friends are going to Denny’s at 2 A.M., but you really need to get some shuteye? Just flip that hourglass and fill that belly with a delicious breakfast platter. You accidentally asked Ashley and Holly out on dates for the same night? Just — wait. No, I don’t recommend that at all. You’re bound to get caught. Especially if you’re in Provo; everyone gossips.

I wish I could use Hermoine’s time turner without the mindbending consequences of seeing yourself.

“Hey David, how was astronomy class?”
“Eh, it’s going all right. I fell asleep a few times, though. My bad. You heading to work?”
“First, I’m going to go dance with my partner, Whitney. Then I’m going to work.”
“Sweet, so I’ll catch you later, then?”
[I think passersby would be very confused. “Are they… twins? Or just really weird dudes? Or the same weird dude? Or maybe… hey look, Taco Bell!”]

Anyway, I’m taking way too long to get to the point of this blog post.
I have too many worthwhile ways to use my time, but I don’t have enough time to do all of these things.
I don’t have any money, so I should probably be working as close to full-time as I can during the summer.
My dance partner Whitney and I want to enter some dance competitions this summer, so we need to practice a lot.
I want to be more athletic. My gymnastics class helps, and I go running after that. Dance also is very productive.
I want to be involved the advertising lab this summer and get some good hands-on experience there. I’m majoring in this field; I better get used to it!

I allocate 4 hours a day  (M-F, maybe Sat) for the athletic and dance categories, and depending on the second job I hope to attain, I’ll be working close to 40 hours a week. So currently the only category that is getting shafted is advertising, which is pretty ironic considering that’s my major.

I just want to be like Hermione: ridiculously smart, organized, and diligent. And to be able to hack time-space. Then maybe I’ll even get a girlfriend? Who knows.

*By the way, you know that feeling you get when you look at a specific word for too long? When it stops seeming like a real word? That just happened with “this.” This this this.

Leave a comment