With the death of one man.

If you’ve been living under a rock for a while, I should let you know that Osama bin Laden has been killed by American forces.

I was stalking viewing a friend’s Facebook wall and one of those account hacking spam things was posted.

My morbid side was intrigued, so I googled the image. I could tell it was Photoshopped [Warning: graphic image] [Warning: lame pun with “graphic” and “image.”], but the abject fanaticism over the picture is what really piqued my interest.

I for one am glad that Osama bin Laden has finally been killed. He masterminded the attacks that killed thousands of innocent people. He has incited a message of hate that has spread across the world.

I’m glad that he is dead. But I don’t rejoice over his death. I am somewhat disgusted by the partying and celebrating outside the White House and throughout the United States.

How animalistic can we Americans be? Isn’t this exactly what radical Muslims did when the Twin Towers were destroyed? Don’t we claim that we’re better than they? More humane, more civil?

Apparently not.

It’s true, this man needed to die. I feel like justice has been served. Despite his international status as a harbinger of terrorism and hate, he is still a human. I am disturbed that people get so excited and bloodthirsty over a photoshopped image of a bloody and dead Osama. Yes, he’s dead. I know. Let him stay dead.

Now it’s quote time!
My friend Elisa says, “I am not in favor of violence. But terrorism will not go away on it’s own. It needs to be destroyed.”

In the words of my roommate Riley, ‎”I do not, and should not, rejoice in the death of my enemies. But I can rejoice in the freedom and the welfare of my country and my people. . . . As President Obama said, may God bless us all, and may God bless America.

A passage from the Book of Mormon, in 1 Nephi 4:11-13 reads as follows: “Yea, and I also knew that he had sought to take away mine own life; yea, and he would not hearken unto the commandments of the Lord; and he also had taken away our property.
Behold the Lord slayeth the wicked to bring forth his righteous purposes. It is better that one man should perish than that a nation should dwindle and perish in unbelief.

As a final thought, the words of Martin Luther King Jr, with forward by Jessica Dovey:
 ‎”I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.” “Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.

May we as human beings be civil and kind to others. That is my plea.

3 thoughts on “With the death of one man.

  1. Well said, David. I was not giddy and rejoicing over his death, but was glad he is gone. While we still will have terrorism, getting rid of one very dominating mastermind is a step in the right direction. I wish we didn’t have to have all these partying people on TV. As you said, when “they” were partying after the 9/11 terrorism, I thought it was barbaric. Now that “we” are doing it also, we’re no different. Barbaric. I also like the MLK Jr. quote, although it’s not all quoted by him. It’s still a great sentiment.

  2. To defend the American people a little the spontaneous parties very fairly limited in scope. From what pictures I’ve seen there were maybe a few hundred people at the White House and a few more in New York. They were also young adults. We are talking the thousands of intern college students from around the country that work in DC. The kind of youth that party for things as quiet and insignificant as mole day, or pi day, or “Star wars” day. I think they represent a very small percentage of the American people. The vast majority (we are talking 99% or more) did not gather to burn refugees or drink. Unfortunately it is the loud and dramatic who are seen on TV and in the new. Really, I’ve been impressed that there wasn’t more of that sort of thing. I also been very impressed with the manner that Obama has handled it, he is showing a lot of grace, I’m glad he didn’t release the pictures. We need to move on.

    Oh, keep blogging, we need to hear your voice.

    • You make a fair point. It’s always the loudest and most boisterous of groups that make the news, even if they are the most disrespectful. That’s what gets people to watch the news anyway. Controversy.
      I too have been impressed with how Obama has handled the situation. From what I’ve heard/read, though, his administration does plan on releasing the pictures, but is questioning how because of how graphic they are. “Like, really really gory.” We’ll see what happens.

Leave a comment